Ecofriendly Recycling of Lithium-Ion Batteries

Duesenfeld combines mechanical, thermodynamic and hydrometallurgical processes in a patented process. The process achieves the highest material recovery rates with low energy consumption. This is made possible by a process control with low temperatures, in which toxic hydrogen fluoride are not produced. Exhaust gas scrubbing is not necessary in the mechanical processing step. The fluorides are removed in a targeted and safe manner in hydrometallurgy.

Duesenfeld operates the only recycling process that, in addition to the usual metals, also supplies graphite, electrolytes and lithium for material recycling. Material recycling does not mean a declaration as a building material, e.g. for road construction, but all metals are recovered with high recovery rates in the form of high-quality secondary raw materials up to battery quality. The production of secondary raw materials with the Duesenfeld recycling process saves 8.1 tons of CO2 per ton of recycled batteries compared to the primary extraction of the raw materials3)4). Compared to conventional melting processes, the Duesenfeld process saves 4.8 tons of CO2 per ton of recycled batteries3)5), compared to mechanical processes with exhaust gas scrubbing, the saving is 1 ton of CO2 per ton of recycled battery3).

CO<sub>2</sub> saving by comparison
CO2 saving in comparison3) 4) 5) 6)

Electric mobility is Climate Friendly only with Duesenfeld Recycling

CO2 savings from electric mobility to slow down global warming must not be nullified by inappropriate recycling of the batteries. With the environmentally friendly process from Duesenfeld, no CO2 is produced during mechanical recycling, no toxic filter materials have to be deposited.

The Duesenfeld process achieves a more than twice as high material recovery rate for lithium-ion batteries as conventional recycling methods through mechanical processing. Supplemented by hydrometallurgical processes, almost complete recycling is possible. End-of-life batteries are usually classified as hazardous goods and transported in battery transport containers. The electrolyte is separated from the other substances by mechanical processing with modular recycling systems on site, the resulting products no longer require special hazardous goods transport containers. These intermediates are transported in standard containers, which makes it possible to transport 7 times the amount per truck. This reduction in the transport of dangerous goods saves a large part of the total recycling costs of the batteries.

Recovery with the Duesenfeld recycling method
Recovery at Duesenfeld Recycling

Our focus is on recycling the batteries as completely as possible. Duesenfeld achieves a recycling rate of 72% in mechanical recycling, with the processing of the black mass in Duesenfeld hydrometallurgy, the material recycling rate increases to 91%. Only the separator film and the high boiler portion of the electrolyte are not recovered at the moment. Duesenfeld thus goes far beyond the current requirements of the EU Battery Directive 2006/66/EC.

Comparison of material recycling rates at battery cell level without battery housing, fas-tening systems, screw fittings, wiring or electronics
Comparison of recycling rates at battery cell level without battery housings, fastening systems, screw connections, cabling and Electronics

Innovative process chain for Recycling Lithium-Ion Batteries

The innovative Duesenfeld process chain was specially developed for lithium-ion batteries and is protected by extensive patents. Duesenfeld's unique combination of mechanical processing and hydrometallurgy, as well as the elimination of high-temperature processes, enables a comprehensive cycle closure of the battery materials. This makes Duesenfeld the technology leader in the field of lithium-ion battery recycling.

Mechanical Processing

The mechanical treatment of lithium-ion batteries is a demanding task due to the flammable electrolyte and dangerous ingredients. For safe reprocessing, Duesenfeld has developed and patented a process that eliminates the specific hazards in the process.

After discharge and disassembly, the batteries are comminuted under an inert gas atmosphere and the solvent of the electrolyte is recovered from the comminuted material by vacuum distillation. A low process temperature prevents the formation of toxic gases, so no exhaust gas scrubbing is necessary. The separated solvent is sent to the chemical industry for further processing.

The dried shredded material is separated into different material fractions on the basis of physical properties such as grain size, density, magnetic and electrical properties, which are further processed metallurgically. The iron, copper and aluminium fractions are fed to established recycling routes. To process the so-called black mass, which contains the electrode active materials and the conductive salt, Duesenfeld has developed a hydrometallurgical process. With this patented process, the metals cobalt, lithium, nickel and manganese as well as graphite are recovered from the black mass.

Recovered electrolyte in the collection container
Recovered electrolyte in the collecting tank

Hydrometallurgy

In most of the currently industrial hydrometallurgical processes for processing the black mass, only cobalt and nickel are recovered. Lithium, manganese and graphite are lost in these processes and are thus removed from the material cycle. Duesenfeld has developed and patented its own process, which enables a complete recirculation through the production of battery-quality raw materials of the electrode active materials.

Recovered graphite
Recovered graphite

A particular challenge in the hydrometallurgical processing of the black mass is the fluorine-containing conductive salt, which can lead to the formation of hydrogen fluoride during wet chemical processing. By means of a patented, specific pretreatment step, Duesenfeld completely removes the fluoride before leaching, which reliably prevents the formation of hydrogen fluoride. After the fluoride removal, the metals are leached and thus separated from the graphite, lithium, cobalt, nickel and manganese are separated from each other by means of various extraction methods, purified and recovered in the form of salts. The salts serve as starting materials for the production of new cathode active materials.


3) Screening LCA, Institute of Machine Tools and Production Technology iWF, Technical University of Braunschweig, LCA Duesenfeld Process, Prof. Dr Christoph Herrmann

4) Wernet, G., Bauer, C., Steubing, B., Reinhard, J., Moreno-Ruiz, E., and Weidema, B., 2016. The ecoinvent database version 3 (part I): overview and methodology. The International Journal of Life Cycle Assessment, [online] 21(9), pp.1218-1230. Available at: http://link.springer.com/10.1007/s11367-016-1087-8 , Version: Ecoinvent 3.6 cut-off

5) Öko-Institut e.V. LCA LibRi, 2011, Development of a feasible recycling concept for the high-performance batteries of future electric vehicles - LiBRi https://www.oeko.de/uploads/oeko/oekodoc/1499/2011-068-de.pdf

6) Base: To ensure the comparability of the results were used for the calculations 3) the same assumptions made as when calculating 5), including lithium recovery and recycling battery housing. Generic battery composition according to the LCA Umbrella Group from the LiBRi/LithoRec projects. Both recycling processes are CO-free2 rucksack (principle of first responsibility) calculated from primary raw material extraction.

Umweltfreundliches Recycling von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien

Duesenfeld verbindet in einem patentierten Verfahren mechanische, thermodynamische und hydrometallurgische Prozesse. Das Verfahren erzielt bei geringem Energieaufwand höchste stoffliche Rückgewinnungsraten. Ermöglicht wird das durch den Verzicht auf das überwiegend angewendete Einschmelzen im Batterierecycling.

Duesenfeld betreibt den einzigen Recyclingprozess, der neben den üblichen Metallen auch den Graphit, den Elektrolyten und das Lithium einer stofflichen Verwertung zuführt. Stoffliche Verwertung heißt keine Deklarierung als Baustoff, z.B. für Straßenbau, sondern alle Metalle werden mit hohen Rückgewinnungsraten in Form hochwertiger Sekundärrohstoffe bis hin zu Batteriequalität zurückgewonnen. Die Produktion von Sekundärrohstoffen mit dem Duesenfeld Recyclingprozess spart 8,1 Tonnen CO2 pro Tonne recycelter Batterien im Vergleich zur Primärgewinnung der Rohstoffe ein1)2). Im Vergleich zu üblichen Einschmelzprozessen spart das Duesenfeld Verfahren 4,8 Tonnen CO2 pro Tonne recycelter Batterien ein1)3).

CO2 Einsparung im Vergleich
CO2 Einsparung im Vergleich1) 2) 3) 4)

Das Duesenfeld Verfahren erzielt bei Lithium-Ionen-Batterien durch mechanische Aufbereitung eine mehr als doppelt so hohe stoffliche Rückgewinnungsrate als herkömmliche Recyclingmethoden. Ergänzt durch hydrometallurgische Prozesse ist ein nahezu vollständiges Recycling möglich. Der mechanische Recyclingprozess kann sowohl stationär als auch mobil an Sammelstellen in 40-Fuß-Containern betrieben werden. Üblicherweise werden End-of-life-Batterien als Gefahrgut eingestuft und in Batterietransportbehältern transportiert. Durch die mechanische Verarbeitung vor Ort wird der Elektrolyt von den übrigen Stoffen getrennt, die entstandenen Produkte benötigen keine speziellen Batterietransportbehälter mehr. Diese Zwischenprodukte werden in Standardbehältnissen transportiert, wodurch pro LKW die 7-fache Menge transportiert werden kann. Durch diese Reduzierung der Gefahrguttransporte wird ein Großteil der gesamten Recyclingkosten der Batterien eingespart.

Stoffliche Rückgewinnung beim Duesenfeld Recycling
Stoffliche Rückgewinnung beim Duesenfeld Recycling

Unser Fokus liegt auf einer möglichst vollständigen stofflichen Verwertung der Batterien. Duesenfeld erreicht im mechanischen Recycling eine stoffliche Recyclingquote von 72 %, mit der Aufbereitung der Schwarzmasse in der Duesenfeld Hydrometallurgie erhöht sich die stoffliche Recyclingquote auf 91 %. Lediglich die Separatorfolie und der Schwersiederanteil des Elektrolyten werden momentan nicht zurückgewonnen. Damit geht Duesenfeld weit über die derzeitigen Anforderungen der EU Batterierichtlinie 2006/66/EC hinaus.

Stoffliche Recyclingquoten auf Batteriezellebene im Vergleich ohne Batteriegehäuse, Befestigungssysteme, Verschraubungen, Verkabelungen und Elektronik
Stoffliche Recyclingquoten auf Batteriezellebene im Vergleich ohne Batteriegehäuse, Befestigungssysteme, Verschraubungen, Verkabelungen und Elektronik

Innovative Prozesskette zum Recycling von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien

Die innovative Duesenfeld Prozesskette wurde speziell für Lithium-Ionen-Batterien entwickelt und ist durch umfangreiche Patente geschützt. Durch Duesenfelds einzigartige Kombination aus mechanischer Aufbereitung und Hydrometallurgie sowie den Verzicht auf Hochtemperaturprozesse gelingt eine umfassende Kreislaufschließung der Batteriematerialien. Dadurch ist Duesenfeld der Technologieführer im Bereich Lithium-Ionen-Batterierecycling.

Mechanische Aufbereitung

Die mechanische Aufbereitung von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien ist aufgrund des brennbaren Elektrolyten und gefährlicher Inhaltsstoffe eine anspruchsvolle Aufgabe. Zur sicheren Aufbereitung hat Duesenfeld ein Verfahren entwickelt und patentiert, dass die spezifischen Gefahren im Prozess eliminiert.

Nach Entladung und Demontage werden die Batterien unter Inertgasatmosphäre zerkleinert und das Lösungsmittel des Elektrolyten aus dem Zerkleinerungsgut mittels Vakuumdestillation zurückgewonnen. Eine niedrige Prozesstemperatur unterbindet die Bildung toxischer Gase. Das abgetrennte Lösungsmittel geht zur weiteren Aufarbeitung in die chemische Industrie.

Das getrocknete Zerkleinerungsgut wird anhand physikalischer Eigenschaften wie Korngröße, Dichte, magnetischer und elektrischer Eigenschaften in verschiedene Materialfraktionen aufgetrennt, die metallurgisch weiterverarbeitet werden. Die Eisen-, Kupfer- und Aluminiumfraktionen werden etablierten Verwertungswegen zugeführt. Zur Verarbeitung der sogenannten Schwarzmasse, die die Elektrodenaktivmaterialien und das Leitsalz enthält, hat Duesenfeld ein hydrometallurgisches Verfahren entwickelt. Mit diesem patentierten Verfahren werden aus der Schwarzmasse die Metalle Cobalt, Lithium, Nickel und Mangan sowie Graphit zurückgewonnen.

Zurückgewonnener Elektrolyt im Auffangbehälter
Zurückgewonnener Elektrolyt im Auffangbehälter

Hydrometallurgie

In den meisten derzeit industriellen hydrometallurgischen Prozessen zur Verarbeitung der Schwarzmasse werden lediglich Cobalt und Nickel zurückgewonnen. Lithium, Mangan und Graphit gehen in diesen Prozessen verloren und werden so dem Stoffkreislauf entzogen. Duesenfeld hat ein eigenes Verfahren entwickelt und patentiert, das eine vollständige Kreislaufführung durch die Produktion von Rohstoffen in Batteriequalität der Elektrodenaktivmaterialien ermöglicht.

Zurückgewonnener Graphit
Zurückgewonnener Graphit

Eine besondere Herausforderung bei der hydrometallurgischen Verarbeitung der Schwarzmasse ist das fluorhaltige Leitsalz, das bei der nasschemischen Verarbeitung zur Bildung von Flusssäure führen kann. Durch einen patentierten, spezifischen Vorbehandlungsschritt entfernt Duesenfeld das Fluorid vollständig vor der Laugung, wodurch die Bildung von Flusssäure sicher verhindert wird. Im Anschluss an die Fluoridentfernung werden die Metalle gelaugt und somit vom Graphit getrennt, der einer stofflichen Verwertung zugeführt wird. Lithium, Cobalt, Nickel und Mangan werden mittels verschiedener Extraktionsverfahren voneinander getrennt, aufgereinigt und in Form von Salzen zurückgewonnen. Die Salze dienen als Ausgangsmaterial für die Produktion neuer Kathodenaktivmaterialien.


1) Screening LCA, Institut für Werkzeugmaschinen und Fertigungstechnik iWF, Technische Universität Braunschweig, LCA Duesenfeld Prozess, Prof. Dr. Christoph Herrmann

2) Wernet, G., Bauer, C., Steubing, B., Reinhard, J., Moreno-Ruiz, E., and Weidema, B., 2016. The ecoinvent database version 3 (part I): overview and methodology. The International Journal of Life Cycle Assessment, [online] 21(9), pp.1218–1230. Available at: http://link.springer.com/10.1007/s11367-016-1087-8 , Version: Ecoinvent 3.6 cut-off

3) Öko-Institut e.V. Ökobilanz LibRi, 2011, Entwicklung eines realisierbaren Recyclingkonzepts für die Hochleistungsbatterien zukünftiger Elektrofahrzeuge – LiBRi https://www.oeko.de/uploads/oeko/oekodoc/1499/2011-068-de.pdf

4) Basis: Um die Vergleichbarkeit der Ergebnisse zu gewährleisten wurden für die Berechnungen 1) die gleichen Annahmen getroffen wie bei Berechnung 3), incl. Lithium Rückgewinnung und Verwertung Batteriegehäuse. Generische Batteriezusammensetzung laut LCA Umbrella Gruppe aus den Projekten LiBRi/LithoRec. Beide Recycling Verfahren sind ohne CO2 Rucksack (Prinzip der ersten Verantwortung) aus primärer Rohstoffgewinnung gerechnet.